14 Nov 2018

Evolutionary Populations:
the seeds of a world waiting to germinate

Evolutionary Populations: the seeds of a world waiting to germinate

Public lecture with Luigi Coppola

As part of the fifth session of the RAW Académie, RAW Material Company invites you to a public lecture given by Luigi Coppola on Wednesday 14th November 2018 at 5.30pm.

Coppola will share, expand on and contaminate the practice he initiated in Castiglione d’Otranto, in the south of Italy, called Scuola di Agriculture (School of Cultures and Agricultures), a pedagogical platform that combines agro-ecological learning with artistic strategies of theater, philosophy, public art and that builds upon the participatory and commoning dynamics of the temporary community.

One of the main themes and practices that will be explored in the seminar is that of “Evolutionary Populations”. The term refers to the practice of participatory genetic improvement, spreading more and more on a global scale and offering an interesting outlook on a number of present day issues.

 

About Luigi Copolla

Luigi Coppola is an artist who works in public art, performance, video and installation. He researches participatory practices and politically-motivated actions, beginning with an analysis of specific social, political, and cultural contexts. Scuola di Agriculture (2017 - ongoing), a pedagogical platform led by Coppola in Castiglione d’Otranto (Puglia, Italy) combines agro-ecological learning with artistic strategies and builds upon the participatory and commoning dynamics of the community of migrants, farmers and activists who formed the cooperative Casa delle Agriculture (House of Agricultures). 

His artistic practice comes from a combination of various educational and professional experiences. He trained both as a scientist (Environmental Engineering, PhD in Risk Analysis) as well as in the arts (Visual and Performing Arts).

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

14 nov. 2018

Populations évolutives:
les graines d’un monde qui attend de germer

Populations évolutives : les graines d’un monde qui attend de germer

Conférence publique avec Luigi Copolla  

Dans le cadre de la cinquième session de la RAW Académie, RAW Material Company a le plaisir de vous inviter à la conférence publique de Luigi Coppola qui aura lieu le mercredi 14 novembre 2018 à 17h30.

Copolla aimerait partager, développer et contaminer la pratique qu’il a lancée à Castiglione d’Otranto, dans le Sud de l’Italie, baptisée Scuola di Agriculture (École de cultures et d’agricultures), une plateforme pédagogique qui conjugue l’apprentissage agro-écologique et les stratégies artistiques du théâtre, de la philosophie, de l’art public, et qui se fonde sur les dynamiques participatives et communalisantes d’une communauté provisoire.

L’un des principaux thèmes (et pratiques) explorés dans le séminaire est celui des « Populations évolutives ». Le terme renvoie à la pratique de l’amélioration génétique participative, qui se développe de plus en plus dans le monde entier et qui offre un point de vue intéressant sur un certain nombre de questions actuelles.

 

A propos de Luigi Copolla

Luigi Coppola est un artiste qui travaille entre l’art public, la performance, la vidéo et l’installation. Il fait des recherches sur les pratiques participatives et les actions à motif politique, en partant d’une analyse de contextes sociaux, politiques et culturels spécifiques. Scuola di Agriculture (depuis 2017), une plateforme pédagogique dirigée par Coppola à Castiglione d’Otranto (Pouilles, Italie), conjugue enseignement agro-écologique et stratégies artistiques en se fondant sur la dynamique participative et communalisante de la communauté de migrants, de paysans et d’activistes qui a formé la coopérative Casa delle Agriculture (Maison des agricultures).

Sa pratique artistique est issue d’une combinaison d’expériences professionnelles et de formations diverses. Il a une double formation, scientifique (génie de l’environnement, PhD en analyse des risques) et artistique (arts visuels et arts de la scène).

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: