12 Dec 2018

Public lecture with Rick Lowe

As part of the fifth session of the RAW Académie, RAW Material Company invites you to a public lecture given by Rick Lowe on Wednesday 12th Secember 2018 at 5.30pm.

The objective of this seminar is to explore what is social and community engaged art and who is doing it. During this seminar, participants will explore various projects and artists to gain insight into what determines a social and community engaged art and what distinguish it from everyday social and community engaged work.

Embodied in all social and community engaged work is a desire to affect some practical outcome. Within all art there is a desire some symbolic or poetic meaning. This seminar will draw upon the experience and sensibilities of my practice as an artist and the participants to identify the most interesting social engaged work and critique it based on its practical and symbolic/poetic impact. Our objective will be to explore a framework of critique of social and community engaged art.

Because there is such similarity between social and community engaged art and social and community engaged work, we will explore the following questions: who has authority to determine when social and community engaged work is art or not. What does it mean for a social and community engaged work to be called art? What is the political significance of social and community engaged art?

 

About Rick Lowe

Rick Lowe is a Houston-based artist who has exhibited and worked with communities nationally and internationally. His work has appeared in: Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston; Museum of Contemporary Arts, Los Angeles; Neuberger Museum, Purchase, New York; Phoenix Art Museum; Gwangju Biennale, Gwangju, Korea; the Kumamoto State Museum, Kumamoto, Japan; the Venice Architecture Biennale; and Documenta 14, Kassel, Germany and Athens, Greece. He is best known for his Project Row Houses community-based art project that he started in Houston in 1993. Additional community projects include the Watts House Project, Los Angeles, CA; the Borough Project, Charleston, SC (with Suzanne Lacy and Mary Jane Jacobs); the Delray Beach Cultural Loop, Florida; Small Business/Big Change, Anyang, Korea; Trans.lation: Vickery Meadow, Dallas, TX; and Victoria Square Project, Athens, Greece. Among Rick’s honors are the Rudy Bruner Awards in Urban Excellence, the AIA Keystone Award, the Heinz Award in the arts and humanities, the Skowhegan Governor’s Award, the Skandalaris Award for Art/Architecture, and a U.S. Artists Booth Fellowship. He has served as a Loeb Fellow at Harvard University, a Mel King Fellow at MIT, an Auburn University Breedan Scholar, and a Stanford University Haas Center Distinguished Visitor. President Barack Obama appointed Rick to the National Council on the Arts in 2013; in 2014 he was named a MacArthur Fellow, and in 2016 he joined the University of Houston as a professor of art.

 

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

12 déc. 2018

Conférence publique avec Rick Lowe

Dans le cadre de la cinquième session de la RAW Académie, RAW Material Company a le plaisir de vous inviter à la conférence publique de Rick Lowe qui aura lieu le mercredi 12 décembre 2018 à 17h30.

L’objectif de ce séminaire est de considérer ce qu’est l’art social et communautaire et qui sont ceux et celles qui le font. Au cours de ce séminaire, les participants étudieront différents projets et artistes pour se familiariser avec ce qui détermine une forme d’art comme « sociale et communautaire » et ce qui distingue cet art du travail social et communautaire habituel.

Au cœur de tout travail social et communautaire, il y a un désir de parvenir à des effets en pratique. Dans tout art il y a un désir de signification symbolique ou poétique. Le séminaire prendra appui sur l’expérience et les sensibilités de ma pratique d’artiste et sur celle des participants pour identifier les formes les plus intéressantes de travail social et en proposer une critique du point de vue de leur portée symbolique/poétique. Notre objectif sera d’envisager un cadre critique pour l’art social et communautaire.

En raison des similarités entre l’art social et communautaire et le travail social et communautaire, nous examinerons les questions suivantes : qui a l’autorité de déterminer quand un travail social et communautaire est ou n’est pas de l’art ? Qu’est-ce que signifie pour un travail social et communautaire d’être qualifié d’art ? Quelle est l’importance politique de l’art social et communautaire ?

 

A propos de Rick Lowe

Rick Lowe, artiste basé à Houston, a exposé et travaillé avec des communautés aux États-Unis et dans le monde. Son travail a été présenté au Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston ; au Museum of Contemporary Arts, Los Angeles ; au Neuberger Museum, Purchase, New York ; au Phoenix Art Museum ; à la Biennale de Gwangju, Corée du Sud ; au Musée de Kumamoto, Japon ; à la Biennale d’Architecture de Venise et à la Documenta 14, Cassel, Allemagne et Athènes, Grèce. Il est connu notamment pour Project Row Houses, un projet artistique lancé à Houston en 1993 impliquant les communautés locales. Parmi ses autres projets d’art communautaire, on peut mentionner le Watts House Project, Los Angeles, Californie ; le Borough Project, Charleston, Caroline du Sud (avec Suzanne Lacy et Mary Jane Jacobs) ; le Delray Beach Cultural Loop, Floride ; Small Business/Big Change, Anyang, Corée du Sud ; Trans.lation: Vickery Meadow, Dallas, Texas ; et le Victoria Square Project, Athènes, Grèce. Rick a reçu notamment le Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence, l’AIA Keystone Award, le Heinz Award in the arts and humanities, le Skowhegan Governor’s Award, le Skandalaris Award for Art/Architecture et la Bourse Booth de l’US Artists. Il a été Loeb Fellow à Harvard, Mel King Fellow au MIT, Breeden Eminent Scholar à l’Auburn University et Distinguished Visitor au Haas Center de Stanford. Le président Barack Obama a nommé Rick au National Council on the Arts en 2013 ; en 2014, il a reçu le prix MacArthur et en 2016, il est devenu professeur d’art à l’University of Houston.

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: