Condition Report 4
Stepping out of line;
Art collectives and translocal parllelism

Condition Report 4 - Stepping out of line; Art collectives and translocal parallelism

Dhaka Art Summit 2020
8th - 10th February 2020

 

Su sanxleẽn booloo wot wer / Ants come together to find wellbeing

Béy, bu àndul ak béy, ànd ak cere / Goats who leave the herd, find themselves in the company of couscous

Wolof proverbs  

 

Above our heads, this very second, thousands upon thousands of birds are flying in flocks. From the lightest shift in incline of feathers is born a collective moment that allows for protection and efficacy whilst flying over great distances. From the ground there appears to be perfect synchronicity within these flock movements, a marvel that scientists are still trying to understand. Other animals, such as fish and insects, also perform actions in widespread unison, a phenomenon otherwise known as allelomimesis; in Ancient Greek allele describes the mutual relations we have to one another, while mimesis means imitation.

 

In contemporary science, the emphasis is often placed on this tendency to imitate, and modelling of allelomimesis has been used to study the behavior of entities as diverse as fish and financial companies. While imitation may have somewhat of a bad name in general, it may be generative to study this seemingly natural inclination we have to mimic in light of allelo, our inherent capacity to live in relation. When these two concepts come together to permit bees to swarm and engage in action that is illogical on a singular level, new and more complex behaviors emerge in the space between each bee. A flick of a wing, banal on its own, is the genesis of significant impact when performed with other, similar winged beings.

 

This fascinating and naturally occurring activity is a useful starting point for Condition Report 4: Stepping out of line; Art collectives and translocal parallelism, which exists as a forum for addressing practices and forms of production that take the cooperating, non-hierarchical group as a guiding principle. As DAS 2020 Seismic Movements invites us to think about the geographically and temporally large-scale shifts that are born from the release of a pressure, CR4 delves into examples of collectivity both historic and contemporary to explore the scope of change possible through the ignition of our relationality. Dreams of cooperation are not always fulfilled, and we acknowledge that the same spirit of resistance, survival or predation that facilitates collective action can wane or backfire, leaving members out of formation. Yet the aesthetic, physical and social fields of intervention that are the focus and fodder of collectives merit attention, in particular given the role they play in the seismic movements that are the focus of DAS 2020.     

 

This symposium, through its form and content, will open up the different lines of enquiry that emerge from collective practice, with a particular focus on the African continent and the web of international solidarities within which it is entangled. Writers and curators will be in dialogue with members of collectives, allowing both critical analysis and historical production to sit side by side with practice. We will open with an investigation into the formal aesthetic of the collective and the forms, structures and shapes that emerge both organically and strategically when we flock together. For the coming together that is CR4, within DAS 2020, we are attentive to the structures and aesthetics in our toolbox, to borrow a term from curator Zoe Butt, and are basing the symposium on the Penc structure from Senegal. The Penc is a designated zone in the public space within which members of the community can come together to work through problems and organise in concertation with one another. Usually outdoors in the shade of a large tree, the space we use in Dhaka is designed to let the outside in and vice versa, as we also propose this form to acknowledge the large number of collective practices that are currently threatened by displacement of entire communities for economic or climatic reasons, who are thus separated from the material space that plays an active role in the affirmation of collective existence.

 

Moving from concerns around form, the conversation will unpack different propositions for the historicisation of collective practice. Polyphonic in their very nature, collectives have proven complex to anchor in any one narrative. Members may tell different and contradictory stories, highlighting aspects of particular relevance to their own journey or the wider circles within which they move, beyond the sphere of the collective itself. And yet we know that these stories must be told. If we accept this reality, can we think of the generative space between the swarm behaviour of two neighbouring bees? What historiographical approaches are necessary for unearthing and learning from gossip, witness accounts, and inconsistency? As articulated by Elvira Dyangani Ose, how can we “claim history as a participatory experience”? Collectives such as the Laboratoire Agit-Art (Senegal), Art Bakery (Cameroon), Invisible Borders (Nigeria), Keleketla! Library (South Africa), Chimurenga (South Africa) and the Nest (Kenya) have been instrumental in the development of social and artistic movements in their respective countries, and it is our duty to highlight this. International collectivism can at times be even harder to map, across linguistic lines and countries with differing relationships to the archive, and yet we must learn to become suppler and more creative in our historiographical methodology if we want to do justice to these histories.

 

Engaging in a more frontal manner with the contemporary moment and the crescendo of interest within both the art world and the fields of social sciences and humanities in collectives and collectivism – indeed as a fully fledged “ism” – we will also ask questions related to the relationship between collective practice and economy. Are visions of commons and non-hierarchical labour structures purely utopian within a global, late-capitalist order?  Must collectives shun capitalism completely to be legitimate, or is it that as put forward by Blake Stimson – albeit as a provocation to open the debate – collective practice must fall on either side of a state/private dichotomy? In many instances, contexts where there is a lack of state institutions seem to produce larger numbers of and more radical collectives. What’s more, while it would be dangerous to suggest that individualism does not exist in Africa, we cannot neglect to recognise the complex and heavy social and economic ties that endure on the continent and the way that these encourage, or not, collective action and economic production and distribution. How do collectives engage with informal and bartering economies to survive, produce and endure and what lessons can be learnt from these strategies? What’s more, challenging traditional notions of authorship and therefore ownership, artist collectives also serve to challenge and reject the vision of the mythical, singular and historically male artist, drawing attention to the plurality of skills and efforts needed to generate and support a project.

 

Continuing in this vein, it is worthwhile to pause on the ways in which collective practice can influence how formal institutions function, and to consider to what ends and through which channels we can create new alliances of support across domains. Collectives often move between different spaces; they may have their own semi-public site of activity, intervene and be invited into galleries or formal art institutions while also working in locations beyond the sphere of the art world. The impact of such mobility, while powerful, needs to be understood and articulated and can allow for new ways of working and co-existing within and outside the so-called art world, that shake up existing frameworks. Many collectives also tend to have a shorter lifespan than formal institutions, and we will consider the death and dispersal of collectives as key moments in their existence, drawing on the experience of the Center for Historical Reenactments’ public suicide. When birds disband from the flock formation, it signifies that the need which brought them together is no longer of relevance; a danger has passed, or the aerodynamic support they provided one another has given sufficient time for rest. To be cognizant of how to separate, shift energies and acknowledge the end of a mission is a skill that will also be discussed; what happens after the seismic movement?

 

Fundamentally, CR4 is an invitation to think about the “we” and the forms of our relationships to one another. We will question and map strategies that allow the flock to fly and get the job done, and then to leave formation without injury, in a bid to open up this prescient field of study while learning and practicing how we can live better together.

 

Program

The structure of this symposium is designed to prioritise accounts, discussions, and performances of collectives. Each day opens with a performance or screening, followed by panels with an overarching theme addressed by panelists from different collectives, including one from Bangladesh. Panels are moderated by a curator or art historian who will highlight and dig deeper into points of commonality or difference and each day will end with the Penc open-forum in the presence of all the day’s speakers, a plenary moment for discussion with the public.

 

Saturday 08/02, Day 1  

 

Ogadha' Ekattata |  তরঙ্গ
Akaliko

We open with a performance by Bangladeshi sound initiative Akaliko to enact and explore the widespread form of collective practice that is ensemble music. Weaving together multiple sonic strands from Bangladesh, this performance is an invitation to open ourselves to experiences of polyphony.

 

Opening remarks 

 

The Entanglements of Existence & Collective Artistic Practice.
Elizabeth A. Povinelli  

This talk examines the potentialities of artistic collectivity when placed within what Povinelli calls the "four axioms of existence," namely: the entanglements of existence; the distribution of the effects of power and the power to affect a given terrain of existence; The multiplicity and collapse of forms of the event; and the provincialization and potential danger of western epistemologies and ontologies, or, what may be called the collapse of western geontopower. What conceptual, aesthetic and political work emerges in this space?

 

Forms of collectives

This panel investigates the formal aesthetic of the collective and the forms, structures and shapes that emerge both organically and strategically when we flock together. Is it possible to delineate aesthetic principles of collectivity, be it in the organisation of the collective itself or that which it produces? 

  •             Laboratoire Agit’Art - Pascal Nampemanla Traoré (Senegal)
  •             Jatiwangi - Ismal Muntaha (Indonesia)
  •             Pathshala - Taslima Akhter (Bangladesh)

Moderated by Marina Fokidis 

 

PENC moderated by Mustafa Zaman 

 

Sunday 09/02, Day 2

 

Xeex bi du jeex (2018, 70’, Raphaël Grisey, Bouba Touré & Kaddù Yaraax)

This film lays the groundwork for day two, as an innovative initiative that employs collective methodologies to revisit the collective history that was in and of itself an experiment in alternative economies. The result of a workshop held in 2018 in Senegal, it draws on conversations with Bouba Touré around the archives of the Somankidi Coura cooperative, and employs improvisation methods from the Theatre of the Oppressed.

 

Making (collective) History

Here we unpack different propositions for making histories of collective practice, and collective practices of making histories. Polyphonic in their very nature, collectives have proven complex to anchor in any one narrative, so how can we become suppler and more creative in our historiographical methodology in order to do justice to these histories?

  •             Luta ca caba inda - Sonia Vaz Borges (Guinea Bissau)
  •             Chimurenga - Ntone Edjabe (South Africa)
  •             Gidree Bawlee - Salma Jamal Moushum (Bangladesh)

Moderated by Shawon Akand

 

Collective practice and economy 

In the era of independances, cultural and artistic reforms constituted a manifestation of the newly elected governments’ political agenda. One of the key means of resistance to this was that of rebellious artists groups who created their own economic - human and monetary - practices and who thus developed an incredible sense of critical vigilance regarding the use of art and artists as tools for political manipulation. Beyond the art industry, working, thinking and acting together continue therefore to be an indispensable economy in order to remedy the precarity which touches a large number of collectives. 

  • Somankidi Coura - Bouba Touré (Mali)
  • Hong Kong Artist Union - Wong Ka Ying (Hong Kong)
  • Shoni Mongol Adda - Tarana Halim (Bangladesh)

Moderated by ruangrupa - Farid Rakun

 

PENC moderated by The Otolith Group 

 

Monday 10/02, Day 3

 

Extinction Surgery
Joydeb Roaja & Hill Group

The final day of the symposium brings us to the difficult question of endings, for which Joydeb Roaja and the Hill Group have conceived of a piece that considers what happens when birds disband from the flock formation, that calls upon a cognizance around separations and shifts in energies and asks; what happens after the seismic movement?

 

The death of the collective 

The collective's primary identity comes from its members and the nature of its creative context. What happens to this collectivity when one or several members withdraw? In many cases we can see a clear intention to put an end to a collective effort for various reasons, but what language do we need in order to have a generative perspective on its death or transformation?

  •             Centre for Historical Reenactment - Kemang Wa Lehulere  (South Africa)
  •             Green Papaya -  Merv Espina (Philippines)
  •             Depth Of the Field - Emeka Okereke  (Nigeria)
  •             Shomoy Group - Dhali Al Mamoon (Bangladesh)

Moderated by Cosmin Costinas

 

PENC 

Plenary Session with John Tain, Marie Hélène Pereira and Dulcie Abrahams Altass 




RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

Etat des Lieux 4
Sortir du Rang:
Collectifs artistiques et parallélisme translocal

Etat des Lieux 4 - Sortir du rang: Collectifs artistiques et parallélisme translocal

Dhaka Art Summit 2020
8 - 10 Février 2020

 

Su sanxleẽn booloo wot wer / Les fourmis se rassemblent pour trouver le bien-être

Béy, bu àndul ak béy, ànd ak cere / les chèvres qui quittent le troupeau se retrouvent en compagnie du couscous

Proverbe Wolof

 

En ce moment même, au-dessus de nos têtes, des milliers d’oiseaux volent en groupe. D’une minime inclinaison des plumes naît un moment collectif qui, tout en offrant une protection, permet une plus grande efficacité sur des vols de longue distance. Vues depuis le sol, ces volées semblent parfaitement synchronisées, un prodige que les scientifiques essaient encore de comprendre. D’autres animaux, tels que les poissons ou les insectes, réalisent aussi des actions en parfaite unisson, un phénomène par ailleurs appelé Allélomimesis ou Allelomimétique ; le terme allele, en grec ancien, décrit les relations que nous avons les uns envers les autres, tandis que mimesis signifie imitation.

De nos jours, dans le domaine des sciences, l’accent est souvent mis sur cette tendance à imiter et la modélisation de l’allélomimétique a été utilisée pour étudier le comportement d’entités aussi diverses que les poissons et les sociétés financières. Alors que l’imitation a en général une connotation négative, il pourrait être bénéfique d’étudier notre tendance apparemment naturelle au mimétisme en fonction de l’allèle, notre capacité innée à vivre en relation les uns avec autres. Lorsque ces deux concepts fusionnent pour permettre aux abeilles de former un essaim et d’entreprendre des actes qui seraient illogiques s’ils étaient individuels, de nouveaux types de relations plus complexes se développent dans l’espace situé entre chacune des abeilles. Un battement d’ailes, banal en soi, peut produire un impact plus important lorsqu’il est réalisé avec d’autres, semblables êtres ailés.

Cette activité fascinante et naturelle est un point de départ utile Etat des Lieux 4 : Sortir du rang : collectifs artistiques et parallélisme translocal, un forum traitant des pratiques et des formes de production en prenant pour principe directeur le groupe organisé suivant un mode de coopération non-hiérarchique. Tandis que le Dhaka Art Summit (DAS) 2020 Mouvements Sismiques nous invite à réfléchir sur les bouleversements géographiques ou temporels de grande envergure causés par le relâchement d’une pression, l’Etat des Lieux 4 explore les exemples de collectivités, historiques et contemporaines, afin d’étudier l’ampleur du changement que nos relations peuvent susciter. Les rêves de coopération ne se réalisent pas toujours et nous devons admettre que le même esprit de résistance, de survie ou de prédation qui facilite l’action collective peut décliner ou bien avoir un effet inverse, en laissant des membres du groupe hors de celui-ci. Cependant les champs d’intervention, aux niveaux esthétique, physique ou social, qui se trouvent au cœur des collectifs et qui les alimentent, méritent toute attention, en particulier étant donné le rôle qu’ils jouent par rapport aux mouvements sismiques qui sont l’objet de DAS 2020.

Ce symposium, à travers sa forme et son contenu, s’ouvrira aux différents champs de recherche issus d’une pratique collective, en portant une attention particulière au continent africain et au réseau de solidarités internationales qui s’entremêlent tout autour. Des auteurs et des commissaires d’exposition dialogueront avec des membres de collectifs, permettant de mettre sur le même plan l’analyse critique, les données historiques et la pratique. Nous commencerons par analyser sur le plan esthétique le collectif et les modèles, structures et formes qui naissent, à la fois sur le plan organique et stratégique, lorsque nous nous rassemblons. En ce qui concerne le rassemblement que constitue CR4, lors du DAS 2020, nous prêtons attention aux cadres structurels et esthétiques dans notre « boite à outils », une expression que nous empruntons à la commissaire Zoe Butt, et nous envisageons le symposium à partir de la structure du Penc sénégalais. Le Penc est un endroit précis dans l’espace public, à l’intérieur duquel les membres de la communauté peuvent se réunir pour régler les problèmes et s’organiser en concertation les uns avec les autres. En général situé à l’extérieur, à l’ombre d’un grand arbre, l’espace que nous utilisons à Dhaka est destiné à laisser l’extérieur pénétrer l’intérieur et vice versa. Nous proposons également ce modèle pour répondre au grand nombre de pratiques collectives qui sont actuellement menacées par le déplacement de communautés entières, pour des raisons économiques ou climatiques, et se trouvent donc coupées de l’espace concret qui participe activement à l’affirmation de leur existence collective.

Après avoir abordé les questions de forme, la discussion présentera différentes propositions pour historiciser les pratiques collectives. De nature polyphonique, les collectifs peuvent difficilement se réduire à une seule histoire. Leurs membres peuvent raconter des histoires différentes et même contradictoires, mettant en évidence des aspects particuliers de leur propre parcours ou des cercles plus larges à l’intérieur desquels ils évoluent, au-delà de la sphère du collectif en lui-même. Et pourtant, nous savons qu’il faut raconter ces histoires. Si nous acceptons cette réalité, pouvons-nous appréhender l’espace productif existant dans l’organisation en essaim de deux abeilles voisines ? Quelles approches historiographiques sont nécessaires pour pouvoir apprendre et tirer partir des bavardages, des témoignages ou incohérences ? Comment pouvons-nous « revendiquer l’histoire en tant qu’expérience participative », comme l’exprime Elvira Dyangani Ose ? Des collectifs tels que Laboratoire Agit-Art (Sénégal), Art Bakery (Cameroun), Invisible Borders (Nigéria), Keleketla! Library (Afrique du Sud), Chimurenga (Afrique du Sud) et The Nest (Kenya) contribuent au développement de mouvements artistiques et sociaux dans leurs pays respectifs, et nous nous devons de les mettre en avant. Le collectivisme international peut parfois être difficile à cartographier, à travers les frontières linguistiques et les pays ayant des rapports différents à la notion d’archive, et pourtant nous devons apprendre à devenir plus flexibles et plus créatifs dans nos méthodes historiographiques si vous voulons rendre justice à ces histoires.

En s’impliquant plus directement vis-à-vis de l’époque actuelle et de l’intérêt croissant porté au collectif et au collectivisme – en tant qu’« -isme » à part entière - que ce soit dans le monde de l’art ou des sciences humaines et sociales, nous nous poserons également des questions relatives aux relations existantes entre pratique collective et économie. Les concepts de structures de travail communes et non hiérarchiques sont-ils purement utopiques dans le cadre d’un modèle capitaliste avancé et mondial ? Les collectifs doivent-ils se tenir complètement éloignés du capitalisme pour être légitimes, ou bien, ainsi que le propose Blake Stimson – même s’il s’agit d’une provocation pour ouvrir le débat – la pratique collective doit-elle se ranger d’un côté ou de l’autre du schéma binaire privé/public ? Dans de nombreux cas, le manque d’institutions étatiques favorise l’émergence d’un grand nombre de collectifs plus radicaux. Qui plus est, alors qu’il serait dangereux de sous-entendre que l’individualisme n’existe pas en Afrique, nous ne pouvons que reconnaître les liens forts et complexes au niveau social et économique qui perdurent sur le continent et la manière dont ceux-ci encouragent, ou pas, l’action collective et la production et distribution économique. Comment les collectifs s’impliquent-ils dans des économies plus informelles, basées sur le troc, pour survivre, produire et résister et quelles leçons peut-on tirer de ces stratégies ? Par ailleurs, en remettant en question les approches traditionnelles du statut d’auteur et par conséquent de la propriété, les collectifs d’artistes permettent également de questionner et de récuser l’immuable et chimérique perspective unique de l’artiste mâle, portant l’attention à la diversité des capacités et des efforts nécessaires pour concevoir un projet et le réaliser.

Dans la même veine, cela vaut la peine de s’arrêter sur les diverses manières dont la pratique collective peut avoir une influence sur le fonctionnement de structures plus formelles, et d’envisager par quels moyens et à quelles fins il est possible de mettre en place de nouvelles synergies de soutien à travers différents secteurs. Les collectifs se déplacent souvent dans différents lieux ; ils peuvent également avoir leur propre espace semi-public dédié à leurs activités, ou intervenir et être invités dans des galeries ou institutions artistiques classiques, tout en travaillant également dans des espaces n’appartenant pas au monde artistique. L’impact d’une telle mobilité, tout en étant particulièrement fort, doit être exposé et pris en compte et peut donner naissance à de nouvelles manières de travailler et de co-exister à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du soi-disant monde de l’art, qui bousculent les cadres existants. De nombreux collectifs tendent également à avoir une durée de vie plus courte que les institutions officielles et nous prendrons en compte la fin et la dispersion des collectifs à des moments clefs de leur existence, en s’inspirant du suicide public du Center for Historical Reenactments (Centre des reconstitutions historiques). Lorsque les oiseaux sortent de la volée, cela signifie que la nécessité qui les a fait se rassembler n’est plus d’actualité ; le danger est passé, ou bien le soutien aérodynamique qu’ils s’apportaient mutuellement leur a accordé suffisamment de temps pour se reposer. Être informé de la manière dont on peut se séparer, déplacer les énergies et accepter la fin d’une mission est une qualité que l’on examinera également ; qu’advient-il après l’onde sismique ?

Fondamentalement, CR4 est une invitation à penser au « nous » et aux formes que prennent les relations que nous entretenons les uns avec les autres. Nous établirons et interrogerons les stratégies qui permettent aux oiseaux de voler en groupe, de mener à bien leur tâche et ensuite de quitter la volée sans dommages, dans l’espoir de décloisonner ce domaine d’étude précurseur tout en apprenant et en s’exerçant à mieux vivre ensemble.

Programme

La structure de ce symposium est pensée pour prioriser des témoignages, discussions et performances de collectifs. Chaque jour commencera avec une performance ou projection de film, suivie de panels avec un thème général traité par des panélistes venant de collectifs différents, dont un collectif du Bangladesh. Les panels sont modérés par des commissaires ou historiens de l’art qui souligneront ou approfondiront les points de convergence ou de différence et les journées se termineront par un forum ouvert - le Penc - avec tous les intervenants de la journée, un moment de plénière pour une discussion avec le public.  

 

Samedi 08/02, Jour 1 

 

Ogadha' Ekattataতরঙ্গ
Akaliko

Nous ouvrons avec une performance par l’initiative sonore bangladaise Akaliko afin de mettre en action et explorer la musique d’ensemble, une forme répandue de pratique collective. Tissant des fils sonores multiples du Bangladesh, cette performance est une invitation à nous ouvrir à des expériences de polyphonie. 

 

Remarques d’ouverture 

 

L’enchevêtrement de l’existence et la pratique artistique collective
Elizabeth A. Povinelli  

Cette conférence examine les potentialités du collectif artistique lorsqu’il est placé dans ce que Povinelli appelle les “quatre axiomes de l’existence”: les enchevêtrements de l’existence; la distribution des effets du pouvoir et le pouvoir d’influence sur un terrain d’existence donné; la multiplicité et l’effondrement des formes d’événement; et la provincialisation et le danger potentiel des épistémologies et ontologies occidentales, ou, ce que l’on pourrait appeler la chute du géo-onto-pouvoir occidental. Quels travaux conceptuel, esthétique et politique peuvent émerger dans cet espace?

 

Formes de collectifs 

Ce panel s’interrogera sur l'esthétique formelle du collectif, et sur les formes et structures qui émergent de façon organique et stratégique quand nous nous attroupons. Est-il possible de tracer des principes esthétiques de collectivité, que ce soit dans l’organisation du collectif lui-même ou dans ce qu’il produit ?

  •             Laboratoire Agit’Art - Pascal Nampemanla Traoré (Sénégal)
  •             Jatiwangi - Ismal Muntaha (Indonésie)
  •             Pathshala - Taslima Akhter (Bangladesh)

Modéré par Marina Fokidis 

 

PENC modéré par Mustafa Zaman

 

Dimanche 09/02, Jour 2

 

Xeex bi du jeex (2018, 70’, Raphaël Grisey, Bouba Touré & Kaddù Yaraax)

Ce film, une initiative innovante qui emploie des méthodologies collectives pour revisiter une histoire partagée qui constituait une expérience en économies alternatives, pose les bases du deuxième jour. Le résultat d’un atelier tenu au Sénégal en 2018, le film tire des éléments de conversations avec Bouba Touré sur les archives de la coopérative Somankidi Coura et utilise des méthodes d’improvisation du Théâtre de l’Opprimé. 

 

Écrire l’histoire (collective) 

Ici nous examinerons différentes propositions pour l’historicisation des pratiques collectives, et des pratiques collectives pour écrire l’histoire. Par leur nature même les collectifs sont polyphones, et se sont ainsi avérés compliqués à ancrer dans un seul récit. Comment peut-on donc devenir plus souples et créatifs dans nos méthodologies historiographiques pour être à la hauteur de ces histoires ? 

  •             Luta ca caba inda - Sonia Vaz Borges (Guinée Bissau)
  •             Chimurenga - Ntone Edjabe  (Afrique du Sud)
  •             Gidree Bawlee - Salma Jamal Moushum (Bangladesh)

Moderé par Shawon Akand

  

Pratique collective et économie  

Au sortir des indépendances, les réformes culturelles et artistiques constituaient une manifestation de l’agenda politique des gouvernements mis en place. Un des moyens de résistance principal était celui des collectifs d’artistes rebelles qui ont créé leurs propres pratiques économiques - humaines et monétaires - et qui ont ainsi développé un sens inouï de vigilance critique quant à l’usage de l’art et de l’artiste comme outils de manipulation politique. Au-delà de l’industrie de l’art, travailler, penser et agir ensemble continuent donc à constituer une économie incontournable pour remédier à la précarité qui touche bon nombre de collectifs.  

  • Somankidi Coura - Bouba Touré (Mali)
  • Hong Kong Artist Union - KY Wong (Hong Kong)
  • Shoni Mongol Adda (Bangladesh)

 Moderé par ruangrupa - Farid Rakun

 

PENC moderé par The Otolith Group

 

Lundi 10/02, Jour 3 

 

Extinction Surgery
Joydeb Roaja & le Hill Group

Le dernier jour du symposium nous amène à la question de la fin. Pour cela, Joydeb Roaja et le Hill Group ont conçu une œuvre qui considère ce qui se passe quand les oiseaux quittent la formation de volée. Cette performance fait appel à une connaissance sur des séparations et changements d'énergies pour demander : que se passe-t-il après le mouvement sismique ?  

 

La mort du collectif  

L’identité première du collectif émane de ses membres et de la nature de son contexte de création. Qu’advient-il de cette collectivité quand un ou des membres se retirent ? Dans nombre de cas nous réalisons une intention claire de mettre fin à un effort collectif pour des raisons diverses mais quel langage nous faut-il pour avoir un regard générateur sur sa mort ou sa transformation ?   

  •             Centre for Historical Reenactment - Kemang Wa Lehulere  (South Africa)
  •             Green Papaya -  Merv Espina (Philippines)
  •             Depth Of the Field - Emeka Okereke  (Nigeria)
  •             Shomoy Group - Dhali Al Mamoun (Bangladesh)

 Moderé par Cosmin Costinas

 

PENC 

Session plénière avec John Tain, Marie Hélène Pereira et Dulcie Abrahams Altass 

 

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: