Spring 2019

What is RAW Académie ? 

RAW Académie is an experimental residential programme for the research and study of artistic and curatorial practice and thought. The programme takes place over 8 weeks in Dakar. It is dedicated to a dynamic reflection on artistic research, curatorial practice and critical writing. The Académie is held during two distinct sessions per year; March–May and October–December. Session 6 will be led by RAW Material Company’s Founding Artistic Director Koyo Kouoh.

Curriculum

CURA

 

What the task of a curator is or has become is not a relevant question or debate anymore. The starting point of our reflection is rather the fact that today curating is an established practice in the field of translation and mediation of artistic and intellectual production. It takes part in disclosing visions, which in turn have the potential to contribute to broadening our understanding of complex geographies and narratives. 

CURA, RAW Académie Session 6, is the result of RAW Material Company’s collaborative reflection after five sessions of this programme. It is a session dedicated to curatorial practice as a contemporary cultural currency, and as social and political agency. Curating as a way to write and re-write histories, a way to read the present and imagine all possible futures. A method to change the meaning of things, and thus our readings thereof. Curating as a tool to occupy spaces and to interact with works of art. Curating as a model to be, to live, and to think with and through art and artists, in proximity to them and what they make, from their studios to the exhibition formats of their choice. 

RAW Material Company is a nucleus, inhabited and animated by the spirit of a team of curators, where curating is both our work and at work. Inspired by and responsive to the creativity of its environment in Dakar, Senegal, RAW is Pan-African, with an ear cocked and a hand extended to the rest of the planet. It is a trans-disciplinary site for the thinking and practice of art. While the exhibition as a form is at the heart of our work, we do not consider it the only format for engaging with art. We are interested in the porosity of forms of mediation. Many have argued that the history of art is no longer a history of objects but of exhibitions, but for an institution such as RAW whose praxis deals with knowledge in its diversity of forms, the history of art we initiate embraces the multiple possibilities that are coming into being for curating ideas and the shapes of their materialization. We look from the visual arts to the sonic, sartorial and edible and are inspired by the arts of hospitality, movement and social performance. We turn a critical eye to the practice of pedagogy itself and think always about how these forms can ignite the political imaginary. We are curious about the before of before, the while of while and the after of after. 
 
RAW is in addition the workplace for twenty fellows and an ever-increasing number of Académie faculty for a total of six months every year. We continuously question our proposals and curatorial ideas as we are constantly exposed to the invaluable input and knowledge of the professionals who work with us and enter our universe. The space of RAW, and its team, become placeholders and interlocutors for methods that challenge the way we approach curating. What does it mean for an institution to enact such suppleness? And to what extent is the Académie programme a curatorial project by RAW, or an opportunity for RAW to be curated? Several decades after the establishment of institutional critique in the artistic sphere, the ways in which institution building is itself a form of curatorial practice still constitutes an oft-overlooked field of enquiry. 

Session 6, CURA, will offer a much-needed platform for delving into these questions and more, offering the opportunity to discuss and experience the institutional proposal that is RAW Material Company and its collaborators. We will explore the conundrums that feed our profession in contexts as specific and diverse as the environments they arise from. Such complexities include conveying the most recent critical thinking and aesthetic theory produced in the field of curating, invoking its historiography and the possibility of a decolonial curating. We will go further — what of resisting curating as a path that emerged from a theoretical framework predominantly shaped by the West, or reflecting on the impact of male dominance and misogynistic transgressions in a professional field defined, amongst other paradigms, by hierarchies of gender and race.

And lest we forget the interdependency that exists amongst curators and artists, critics and art historians, and the increasing crossover between these disciplines, CURA will welcome fellows from across the arts, focusing on practice over title and in the process asking necessary questions about the nature of collaboration. 

The session will play out as a curatorial summit of a different order. Curators who have nourished and sustained a critical tension with regards to the craft and created unique perspectives and universes will form the body of the faculty. These are individuals and collectives who at once inform and challenge the work of RAW Material Company, and expand the possibility of transforming cura from noun to verb. 

Faculty will include Zoe Butt, Diana Campbell Betancourt, Princesse Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Adrienne Edwards, Reem Fadda, Kate Fowle, Natasha Ginwala, Samuel Leuenberger, Chus Martinez, Gabi Ngcobo, Ruth Noack, Maria Lind, Miguel A. López, Marion Louisgrand Sylla, Bisi Silva and WHW.

Lead Faculty

Koyo Kouoh is the founding artistic director of RAW Material Company. For Carnegie International, 57th edition, 2018, Kouoh is participating with Dig Where You Stand, an exhibition within the exhibition based on the Carnegie Museum of Art’s collection. With Rasha Salti, she recently co-curated Saving Bruce Lee: African and Arab Cinema in the Era of Soviet Cultural Diplomacy at Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Previously, she was the curator of 1:54 FORUM, the educational programme at the Contemporary African Art Fair in London and New York, and served in the curatorial teams for documenta 12 (2007) and documenta 13 (2012). Kouoh was the curator of “Still (the) Barbarians,” 37th EVA International, Ireland’s Biennial in Limerick (2016); and has curated numerous exhibitions internationally as well as published widely including Word!Word?Word! Issa Samb and the undecipherable form, RAW Material Company/OCA/Sternberg Press (2013), the first monograph dedicated to the work of seminal Senegalese artist Issa Samb; Condition Report on Building Art Institutions in Africa, a collection of essays resulting from the eponymous symposium held in Dakar in January 2012; and Chronicle of a Revolt: Photographs of a Season of Protest, RAW Material Company & Haus der Kulturen der Welt (2012). Besides a sustained theoretical, exhibition, and residency program at RAW Material Company, she maintains a critical curatorial and advisory activity and regularly takes part in juries and selection committees internationally. She lives and works in Dakar and Basel and is consciously addicted to shoes, textiles and food.

Public lectures

Calendar of Public Sessions

CURA - RAW Académie Session 6

 

Monday March 25, 6:00

Public lecture with Ruth Noack

Sleeping with a Vengeance, Dreaming of a Life

Based on a series of exhibitions around contemporary politics of sleep, this conference interrogates the possibity of reconfiguring curation, like sleep and dream, as a radical and subjective activity.

 

Wednesday March 27th, 6:00

Public lecture with Chus Martínez  

Hyper-pedagogy or The future of teaching

Can an art school be the place to develop further ideas on the future of art and curating? Can we see art schools as the perfect place to develop new ideas on how to understand artistic production? Are art schools perfect partners to join forces with other art institutions in other to support what artist do, in order to create a truly different space? But also, could we imagine that to study art is to study the way we relate to nature, to gender, to postcolonial processes? And what about skills? What about the digital when the digital is not truly possible?

 

Friday March 29th, 6:00

Public lecture with Samuel Leuenberger

Claiming Public Space

Looking at SALTS and Parcours side-by-side, we will examine the challenges of developing site-specific and site-responsive artworks, installations and performances. I propose to use the concept of the ‘comfort zone’ to approach the reclamation of public space through artistic interventions. The comfort zone prefigures a supportive base for artists to explore and activate a given site, through which new perspectives and orientations may emerge and to finally exit that very comfort zone again.

 

Wednesday April 3rd, 6:00

Public lecture with Princesse Marilyn Douala Manga Bell

Ars & Urbis

Princesse Marilyn presents the experience that doual’art has been developing in the city for 27 years, in close synergy with the inhabitants and the city (clusters in the city), has revealed multiple dimensions of art. We cannot be content in reducing art to matters of relationality, mediation, or aesthetics. Art in the urban public space is a political commitment, indeed it is primarily a political affair as it concerns municipal management and public affairs. And above all else it builds a reference point for identity, no longer of a community but of a collectivity that has the right, indeed the duty, to break free from the codes and forms of servitude.

         

Tuesday April 9, 6:00

Public lecture with Diana Campbell Betancourt 

The Rise of Art Institutions from the Bengal Delta

Bangladesh was born as an independent nation in 1971 on the back of a devastating cyclone and oppressive rule by Pakistani forces who strategically massacred the country's intellectuals. Only three years later, the government founded the Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy and the Asian Art Biennale. Today, artists from Bangladesh are creatively thriving due to institutions built by artists for artists. This talk will address the rise of art schools in Bangladesh, artist led initiatives, and festivals such as the Chobi Mela, Asian Art Biennale, and Dhaka Art Summit.

 

Friday April 12th, 6:00

Public lecture with WHW     

“My Sweet Little Lamb (everything we see could also be otherwise)”

Members of curatorial collective What, How & for Whom/WHW Ana Dević and Nataša Ilić will present their exhibition project My Sweet Little Lamb (everything we see could also be otherwise)co-curated with Kathrin Rhomberg. They will also be discussing ways in which the local perspective continuously influences their curatorial practice, anchored in directing non-profit Gallery Nova in Zagreb and their recently inaugurated educational program WHW Akademija. This program aims to enable new forms of self-determination for the participants, based on modes of critical reflection, curiosity and encounters among artists, artworks, arts professionals, scholars and practitioners in various disciplines.

 

Tuesday April 16th, 6:00

Public lecture with Kate Fowle

While the 1990s saw the beginning of the global biennial boom, opening up the potential for connections between divergent practitioners, the turn of the millennium saw the evolution of new models for institutions that enabled the development of longer-term networks and collaborations regionally and internationally. But, now, as curators have undertaken increasingly politicized roles and exhibition topics, the growing pains are evident. From where we stand today, what imaginaries will support the advancement of reflexive institutions that can critically contribute to twenty-first-century society?

 

Friday April 19th, 6:00

Public lecture with Miguel A. López

Art from Central America: Our Bodies Ourselves
 
TEOR/éTica is a non-profit visual art organization founded in 1999 by Virginia Perez-Ratton, a Costa Rican artist and curator. Its mission is to contribute to the research and diffusion of contemporary art practices in Central America and the Caribbean in dialogue with global realities. This presentation explore the work of Central American artists who use diverse strategies of self-fashioning and image-making to explore the political representation of gender. 
 

Tuesday April 23th, 6:00

Public lecture with Elvira Dyangani Ose

Ritual as institution

Building on some of the concerns explored at the symposium Experience as Institution – Part 1: Artist Collectives and Cultural Platforms in Africa, which took place at Tate Modern in 2013, this seminar takes Senegalese artist collective Laboratoire Agit’Art’s modus operandi as a starting point to examine from a theoretical standpoint the birth and status of collective contemporary art practices in Africa. The session explores a number of case studies, featuring artists, artist’s collectives and organisations that engage with socio-political questions occurring beyond the time and space of the art experience.

 

Monday April 29th, 6:00

Public lecture with Maria Lind

Working with Things I Don’t Understand

Contemporary art remains an incredible form of understanding, a meta category which can include everything else. This makes it exceptionally useful in terms of dealing with contemporary existence. By making new narratives possible, contemporary art asks the difficult questions and articulates imaginaries which we did not know before. Working curatorially with contemporary art is for me an endless enquiry into things I don’t understand, which I don’t know.

 

Wednesday May 1st, 6:00

Public lecture with Natasha Ginwala

Tant de faims

This seminar series will combine the intellectual and physical labours of curatorial practice and collective research while addressing three interrelated thematic complexes: corruption, social justice and riots.

 

Friday May 3rd, 6:00

Public lecture with Zoe Butt 

We do not know French. We speak Vietnamese

Vietnam started its road towards independence from the French Empire during the Battle of Dien Bien Phu in 1954 - but at a massive cost. How do vietnamese artists respond to the ensuing history of civil agitation, proxy wars , mass demographic movements, of the Communist and the economic success of the country? What alliances do these artists try to create by tracing their cultural senses, beyond official histories and tourist stereotypes?

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

Session 6

Qu’est-ce que RAW Académie ?

RAW Académie est un programme résidentiel expérimental pour la recherche et l'étude de la pratique et de la pensée artistique et du commissariat d’exposition. Le programme se déroule à Dakar pendant 8 semaines. Il invite à mener une réflexion dynamique sur la recherche en art, la pratique du commissariat d’exposition et l'écriture critique. Deux sessions distinctes ont lieu chaque année : mars-mai et octobre-décembre. La session 6 sera dirigée par Koyo Kouoh, fondatrice et directrice artistique de RAW Material Company.

Curriculum

CURA 


Ce qu’est ou ce qu’est devenu le rôle du commissaire d’exposition ne nous semble plus vraiment une question ou un débat pertinent. La source de notre réflexion est plutôt le fait qu’aujourd’hui le commissariat d’exposition est une pratique établie et reconnue dans la sphère de la traduction/transmission et de médiation de la production artistique et intellectuelle. Il participe à la dissémination de visions diverses qui à leur tour peuvent contribuer à enrichir notre compréhension des géographies et des récits complexes.

CURA, la Session 6 de RAW Académie, est le résultat d’une réflexion menée par l’équipe de RAW Material Company à l’issue de cinq sessions de ce programme. C’est une session dédiée au commissariat d’exposition — comme monnaie culturelle contemporaine et comme action sociale et politique. Le commissariat d’exposition comme manière d’écrire et de ré-écrire des histoires, de lire le présent et d’imaginer tous les futurs possibles. Une méthode pour changer le sens des choses et ainsi nos lectures, d’occuper les espaces et de dialoguer avec des œuvres d’art. Le commissariat d’exposition comme manière d’être, de vivre et de penser avec et à travers l’art et les artistes, auprès d’elles et d’eux et de ce qu’ils créent, de leurs ateliers à l’espace de présentation de leur choix. 

RAW Material Company est une cellule, habitée et animée par l‘esprit d’une équipe de commissaires, où le commissariat d’exposition est un travail et en travail. Inspirée par et en dialogue avec la créativité de son environnement à Dakar, au Sénégal, RAW est panafricaine, avec une oreille attentive et la main tendue au reste de la planète. C’est un espace transdisciplinaire pour la pensée et la pratique artistique. Aussi bien que l’exposition est une forme qui est au cœur de notre travail, nous ne la considérons pas comme étant la seule forme d’engagement avec l’art. Nous sommes intéressées par la porosité des formes de médiation. Beaucoup ont prétendu que l’histoire de l’art n’est plus une histoire d’objets mais d’expositions, mais pour une institution telle que RAW dont la pratique est liée au savoir dans sa multitude de formes, l’histoire de l’art que nous créons touche aux multiples possibilités naissantes pour commissarier des idées et les formes de leur matérialisation. Nous nous intéressons aux arts visuels et au sonique, au vestimentaire et au comestible et sommes inspirées par les arts de l’hospitalité, du mouvement et de la performance sociale. Nous nourrissons un œil critique face à la pratique pédagogique en elle même et pensons toujours à comment ces formes peuvent susciter l’imaginaire politique. Nous sommes curieuses de savoir ce qui précède le passé, le pendant du pendant et l’après de l’après.  

RAW est de surcroît le lieu de travail de 20 participants et d’un nombre croissant d’intervenants pour une période de six mois par an. Nous remettons continuellement nos propositions et idées de commissariat en question car étant sans cesse exposées à l’apport des professionnels avec qui nous travaillons et qui entrent dans notre univers. L’espace de RAW ainsi que son équipe deviennent un site de substitution et respectivement interlocutrices qui souvent font face à des approches différentes des leurs en terme de commissariat d’exposition. Quelle est la signification d’une telle souplesse pour une institution ? À quel point le programme de l’Académie constitue-t-il un projet de commissariat de RAW, ou une opportunité pour RAW d’être commissariée ? Plusieurs décennies après l’établissement de la critique institutionnelle dans la sphère artistique, les manières dont le développement d’institutions est en lui-même une forme de commissariat représentent encore un champ de recherche souvent négligé. 

La session 6, CURA, donnera ainsi la place bien nécessaire pour se pencher sur ces questions et plus encore, offrira l’opportunité de discuter de et de faire l’expérience de la proposition institutionnelle qu’est RAW Material Company et ses collaborateurs/trices. Nous allons explorer les tenants et aboutissants qui animent notre profession dans des contextes aussi particuliers et aussi divers que les environnements desquels ils émergent. Qu’il s’agisse d’évoquer la théorie critique et esthétique la plus récente produite dans ce domaine,  son historiographie ou la possibilité de penser un commissariat décolonial. De manière plus poussée -  le refus même de le penser dans un espace théorique qui a avant tout été défini par l’Occident, ou réfléchir sur les conséquences de la dominance masculine et des transgressions misogynes existant dans un champ professionnel marqué, entre autres paradigmes, par les hiérarchies de genre et de race. 

Et pour ne pas oublier l’interdépendance qui existe entre les commissaires d’exposition et les artistes, les critiques et les historiens de l’art, et l’enchevêtrement grandissant de ces disciplines, CURA accueillera des participants de toute discipline artistique, se concentrant sur la pratique au lieu du titre et, ce faisant, sur les questions nécessaires concernant la nature de la collaboration.

La session se déroulera comme un sommet de commissariat d'un ordre différent. Les commissaires qui ont nourri et entretenu une tension critique en ce qui concerne ce métier et qui ont créé des perspectives et des univers uniques formeront le corps professoral. Ce sont des personnes et des collectifs qui informent et défient à la fois le travail de RAW Material Company et élargissent la possibilité de transformer le nom cura en verbe.

Le corps professoral sera composé entre autres de Zoe Butt, Diana Campbell Betancourt, Princesse Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Adrienne Edwards, Reem Fadda, Kate Fowle, Natasha Ginwala, Samuel Leuenberger, Chus Martinez, Gabi Ngcobo, Ruth Noack, Maria Lind, Miguel A. López, Marion Louisgrand Sylla, Bisi Silva et WHW.

Directrice de Session

Koyo Kouoh est la fondatrice et directrice artistique de RAW Material Company. Elle participe à la 57ème édition de Carnegie International, 2018, avec Dig Where You Stand, une exposition au sein de l’exposition de la collection du Carnegie Museum of Art. Avec Rasha Salti, elle a récemment co-commissarié Saving Bruce Lee: le cinéma africain et arabe à l'ère de la diplomatie culturelle soviétique à la Haus der Kulturen der Welt à Berlin. Auparavant, elle était commissaire de 1:54 FORUM, le programme éducatif de la Foire d’art contemporain africain à Londres et à New York, et fut membre des équipes de commissariat des documenta 12 (2007) et 13 (2012). Kouoh était la commissaire de "Still (the) Barbarians", 37ème édition d’EVA International, Biennale d'Irlande à Limerick (2016); et a organisé de nombreuses expositions à l'échelle internationale et publié largement, y compris Word! Word? Word! Issa Samb et la forme indéchiffrable, RAW Material Company / OCA / Sternberg Press (2013), la première monographie consacrée à l'œuvre de l'artiste sénégalais Issa Samb; État des lieux sur la création d’institutions d’art en Afrique, une collection d'essais résultant du symposium éponyme qui s'est tenu à Dakar en janvier 2012; et Chronique d'une révolte: Photographies d'une saison de protestation, RAW Material Company et Haus der Kulturen der Welt (2012). En plus d'un programme soutenu de théorie, d'exposition et de résidence à RAW Material Company, elle maintient une activité critique de commissariat et de conseil et est régulièrement membre de jury et de comités de sélection à l'échelle internationale. Elle vit et travaille à Dakar et à Bâle et est consciemment accro aux chaussures, aux tissus et à la nourriture.

Conférences publiques

Calendrier des Sessions Publiques

CURA - RAW Académie Session 6 

 

Lundi 25 mars 18h00

Conférence publique avec Ruth Noack

Dormir avec force et rêver d’une vie

Basée sur une série d’expositions sur les politiques contemporaines du sommeil, cette conférence questionne la possibilité de re-configurer encore une fois le commissariat d’exposition, tout comme le sommeil et le rêve, comme une activité radicale et subjective.

 

Mercredi 27 mars 18h00

Conférence publique avec Chus Martínez  

L’hyper-pédagogie ou Le futur de l’enseignement

Une école d’art peut-elle être l’endroit pour développer de nouvelles idées sur l’avenir de l’art et du commissariat d’exposition ? Peut-on considérer les écoles d’art comme l’endroit idéal pour développer de nouveaux concepts concernant la manière d’appréhender la production artistique ? Les écoles d’art sont-elles les meilleurs partenaires pour collaborer avec d’autres institutions artistiques afin de soutenir le travail des artistes et de créer un espace vraiment différent ? Mais pourrions-nous aussi imaginer qu’étudier l’art revient à étudier ce qui nous lie à la nature, au genre, aux processus postcoloniaux ? Et qu’en est-il des compétences ? Qu’en est-il du numérique quand le numérique n’est pas véritablement envisageable ?

 

Vendredi 29 mars 18h00

Conférence publique avec Samuel Leuenberger

S’approprier l’espace public

En examinant SALTS, l’organisation destinée à permettre à de jeunes artistes suisses et internationaux de développer des projets in-situ spécifiques, et Parcours, une programmation d’œuvres in-situ et de performances autour du centre historique de Bâle, côte à côte, nous étudierons les enjeux de la mise en place d’œuvres, d’installations et de performances in-situ. Le concept de « zone de confort » sera utilisé comme approche de la demande du public en ce qui concerne les interventions artistiques.

 

Mercredi 03 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Princesse Marilyn Douala Manga Bell

Ars & Urbis

Princesse Marilyn présentera l’expérience développée par doual’art (Douala, Cameroun) depuis 27 ans dans la ville, à la rencontre de ses habitants, et qui a révélé de multiples dimensions de l’art. On ne peut se contenter de réduire l’art aux questions du relationnel, de la médiation ou de l’esthétique. L’art dans l’espace social urbain est un engagement politique, relève du politique, concerne au premier chef la gestion de la cité et de la chose publique. Et il construit surtout un référencement identitaire, non plus d’une communauté mais d’une collectivité qui est en droit, plus, est en devoir de s’affranchir de codes et de formats d’asservissement.

         

Mardi 9 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Diana Campbell Betancourt

La montée des institutions d'art du delta du Bengale

Le Bangladesh indépendant est né en 1971 à la suite d'un cyclone dévastateur et d'un régime oppressif des forces pakistanaises qui ont massacré de manière stratégique les intellectuels du pays. Trois ans après, le gouvernement a fondé l’Académie du Bangladesh Shilpakala ainsi que la Biennale de l’art asiatique. Aujourd’hui, les artistes du Bangladesh se développent de manière créative grâce aux institutions construites par et pour des artistes. Cette conférence portera sur l’émergence des écoles d’art au Bangladesh, les initiatives d’artistes et les festivals tels que la Chobi Mela, la Biennale de l’art asiatique et le Dhaka Art Summit.

 

Vendredi 12 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec WHW     

Mon doux petit agneau (tout ce que nous voyons peut aussi être perçu différemment)

Les membres du collectif curatorial, What, How and for Whom/WHW (Quoi, Comment et pour Qui?) Ana Dević et Nataša Ilić présenteront leur projet d'exposition Mon doux petit agneau (tout ce que nous voyons peut aussi être perçu différemment), co-commissarié avec Kathrin Rhomberg. Elles discuteront également des façons dont la perspective locale influe de manière continue sur leur pratique en commissariat d’exposition, ancrée dans leur direction de la Galerie Nova à Zagreb, un espace à but non-lucratif, et leur programme éducatif nouvellement inauguré WHW Akademija. Ce programme offre de nouvelles formes d’autodétermination parmi les participants, en s’appuyant sur des modes de réflexion critique, la curiosité et des rencontres entre artistes, œuvres, professionnels d’art, universitaires et praticiens de disciplines diverses.

 

Mardi 16 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Kate Fowle

Alors que les années 1990 ont vu le début du boom mondial des biennales, le tournant du nouveau millénaire a vu l’évolution de nouveaux modèles pour les institutions, permettant le développement de réseaux durables et de collaborations à l'échelle régionale et internationale. Cependant, aujourd’hui, à un moment où les commissaires entreprennent des rôles et traitent des sujets de plus en plus politisés, on assiste clairement à une crise de croissance. À partir de notre position actuelle, quels imaginaires soutiendront l’avancement d’institutions réflexives qui sont capables de contribuer, de manière critique, à la société du 21ème siècle?  

 

Vendredi 19 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Miguel A. López

L’art de l’Amérique Centrale: Nos corps nous-mêmes

TEOR/éTica est une organisation pour les arts visuels, à but non-lucratif et fondée en 1999 par Virginia Perez-Ratton, une artiste et commissaire d’exposition costaricaine. Sa mission est de contribuer à la recherche sur et la diffusion de pratiques d’art contemporain en Amérique Centrale et aux Caraïbes en dialogue avec les réalités mondiales. Cette présentation explorera le travail d'artistes de cette région qui emploient diverses stratégies de fabrication de soi et de création d’images pour interroger la représentation politique du genre.

 

Mardi 23 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Elvira Dyangani Ose

Le rituel en tant qu’institution

S’appuyant sur certaines des préoccupations analysées lors du symposium Expérience en tant qu’institution - 1ère partie : Les collectifs d’artistes et les plateformes culturelles en Afrique, qui s’est déroulé à la Tate Modern en 2013, ce séminaire prend comme point de départ le mode opératoire du collectif d’artistes sénégalais Laboratoire Agit’Art pour envisager d’un point de vue théorique la genèse des pratiques artistiques collectives contemporaines en Afrique, ainsi que leur statut. Le séminaire analyse divers exemples d’artistes, de collectifs d’artistes et d’organisations, qui s’impliquent dans des questions socio-politiques se manifestant en dehors du cadre spatial et temporel de l’expérience artistique.

 

Lundi 29 avril 18h00

Conférence publique avec Maria Lind

Travailler avec des choses que je ne comprends pas

L’art contemporain reste un mode de connaissance extraordinaire, une méta-catégorie qui peut tout inclure. Ce qui le rend incroyablement utile pour traiter de la vie actuelle. En rendant possible de nouveaux récits, l’art contemporain s’attaque aux questions difficiles et fait apparaître des imaginaires inconnus jusqu’ici. Travailler avec l’art contemporain en tant que commissaire d’exposition est pour Maria Lind un questionnement sans fin de ce qu’elle ne comprend pas, de ce qu’elle ne connait pas. Parmi les sujets qui seront abordés pendant cette conférence se trouve la position de l’artiste par rapport à l’institution.

 

Mercredi 01 mai 18h00

Conférence publique avec Natasha Ginwala

Tant de faims

Cette conférence retracera les héritages obsédants de la famine du Bengale (1943-1944), qui a entraîné une famine généralisée, un assèchement économique et une démonstration de la tyrannie impériale britannique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, alors que le mouvement pour la liberté en Inde résonnait de demandes de libération totale du Raj britannique. La nature complexe de la famine sera explorée à travers les contributions d'artistes et de réalisateurs de films, tandis que les mécanismes coloniaux et la nécropolitique de la faim se traduiront également par une dramaturgie plus vaste autour de la violence systémique dans la modernité.

 

Vendredi 03 mai 18h00

Conférence publique avec Zoe Butt 

Nous ne connaissons pas le français. Nous parlons vietnamien.

Le Vietnam a posé les jalons de son indépendance de l’Empire française à la Bataille de Dien Bien Phu en 1954 - mais à un coût futur colossal. Comment les artistes vietnamiens répondent-ils aujourd’hui à l’histoire qui en résulte d’agitation civile, de guerres par procuration, d’un déplacement démographique de masse, de l’union Communiste et du succès économique actuel du pays ? Quelles alliances les artistes cherchent-ils en traçant le sens de leur culture, au delà des histoires officielles et des stéréotypes touristiques répandus ?

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: