Session 7

Curriculum

Images for our times

Directed by Eric Baudelaire

 

RAW Académie Session 7 directed by artist and filmmaker Eric Baudelaire, will focus on film. New ways to see, to hear and to share, to help us question the urgencies of the present, not so much to explain them but to question ourselves in the face of them. Seven weeks to reflect on the relationship between film and actuality, between images and events, between art and the real.
 
While a shared definition of what constitutes the real eludes us, we have imagined this session with a great love for those who devote themselves, in various ways, to trying to grasp it, to studying its mechanisms, or simply to shining a light on a sliver of it. The faculty of Session 7 is made up of fellow travelers who share these concerns, and have been engaged in reflecting on the real with variable doses of fiction, invention, imagination and observation.
 
A passage from Samuel Beckett comes to mind: “… there will be a new form and (…) this form will be of such a type that it admits the chaos and does not try to say that the chaos is really something else. The form and the chaos remain separate… That is why the form itself becomes a preoccupation, because it exists as a problem separate from the material it accommodates. To find a form that accommodates the mess, that is the task of the artist now.”
 
Today, the word mess as a synonym for the word real seems as prescient as ever. What matters about Beckett’s formulation, what feels urgent and relevant about it in the current moment, is that it doesn’t speak of a task to reveal the mess, or deconstruct the mess – it speaks of a need to accommodate it in a form, so that we may find new ways to relate to it, whatever that form may be.
 
Throughout the Académie, we will discuss the potentialities of images and sounds. Together, we will watch a film a day: films authored by, and films that have inspired the visiting faculty. We will consider film as a means of resistance, a tool to generate new critical forms, material and ideas, a medium for creating a common experience. We will juxtapose fictions that have documentary tendencies with documents that open fictional spaces, and instigate a dialogue between them. We will inhabit the space between story and history. We will discuss expanded practices, beyond film and projections: convening other artworks, archives, performances and discussions into the exhibition space, working with printed matter, inventing new models of interaction between artist, audience and material.
 
Images for our times will be structured around rituals and repetition. Each day will begin with a screening, followed by a walk. A perambulation through the city of Dakar towards a new location where we will sit and discuss what we have screened. The program will not be production focused, but fellows will be encouraged to work on small projects, make images in Dakar, and share them with the fellows during dedicated weekly viewing sessions.
 
The curriculum will be shaped each week by the visiting faculty members: filmmakers and artists John AkomfrahMati DiopAlain GomisJoana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Alfredo Jaar, Naeem Mohaiemen, curator and writer Rasha Salti and film scholar Nicole Brenez.
 
Through the screenings, the walks and the discussions, RAW Académie Session 7 will reflect on a cinema that searches for new forms to accommodate the real, with the conviction that a form can create a community of circumstance. A community that exists because of the form, a community that thinks about problems that the observed real poses. What remains important is experiencing a sensation together, experiencing a non-fragmented continuity together. Thinking anew our sense of time as we reflect about the mess. Affirming an urgency to rethink our experience of time.
 
This session is open to filmmakers and artists interested in working with moving images, as well as film programmers, curators, researchers, and art historians with a commitment to the moving image.

Lead Faculty

Eric Baudelaire (b. 1973) is an artist and filmmaker based in Paris, France. After training as a political scientist, Baudelaire established himself as a visual artist with a research-based practice incorporating photography, printmaking and video. Since 2010, filmmaking has become central to his work. His feature films Also Known As Jihadi (2017), Letters to Max (2014), The Ugly One (2013) and The Anabasis of May and Fusako Shigenobu, Masao Adachi and 27 Years Without Images (2011) have circulated widely in film festivals (including Locarno, Toronto, New York, FID Marseille and Rotterdam film festivals). When shown within exhibitions, Baudelaire’s films are part of broad installations that include works on paper, performance, publications and public programs, in projects such as APRÈS at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, and The Secession Sessions, which traveled to the Berkeley Art Museum, Bétonsalon in Paris, Bergen Kunsthall and Sharjah Biennial 12. Baudelaire has had monographic exhibitions at the Witte de With (Rotterdam) the Fridericianum (Kassel) the Beirut Art Center, Gasworks (London) and the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, and has participated in the 2017 Whitney Biennale, the 2014 Yokohama Triennale, Mediacity Seoul 2014, and the 2012 Taipei Biennial. His work is in the collections of the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid, the MACBA in Barcelona, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris and M+ in Hong Kong.

Faculty

Fellows

Public Events

Public lectures Calendar

Images for our Times

RAW Académie Session 7

 

Friday November 1st at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening

Un film dramatique (2019) by Eric Baudelaire

What are we making together? This question is the concern of the students of the cinema group of the Dora Maar (93) middle school and Eric Baudelaire, who has accompanied them since their entrance in the school. To answer that question - political since it engages representations of power, of social violence and of identity - is for them to start a search for a form that can do justice to the singularity of each of them, but also to the spirit of the group. What are me making together, if it is neither fiction nor documentary? A dramatic film, perhaps, which showcases the ways in which time works on bodies and discourse, but also the possibility for each to speak in their own name while filming for others, and to become along with Baudelaire, co-authors of a film, that is, already the subjects of their own lives. 

 

Wednesday November 6th at 6:00pm

RAW Material Company

Public lecture with Khalil Joreige

The Lebanese Civil Wars collapsed the binary between fiction and documentary for violence affects representations, images and narrations. In the specific context of post-war Beirut, what was real seemed sometimes implausible, and the possibility of fiction was put into question. 

It is so difficult to define the "real." Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige are constantly looking for its manifestations, symptoms and appearances. What interests us is what is alive, what is close to “life”. So when they speak of the real, of reality, of fiction, they are in fact speaking of trying to make images or narrations they can believe in, trying to show what is invisible, or impossible to see...

 

Friday November 8th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening

Je veux voir (2008) by Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige

July 2006. Another war breaks out in Lebanon. A war which comes to break the hopes of peace in the next generation.

We do not know what to write, what stories to tell, what images to show. We ask ourselves “what can film do?”

This question, we decided to ask it truly. We go to Beyrouth with an “icon”, an actress who represents film for us, Catherine Deneuve. She will meet our actor, Rabih Mroué.

Together, they will drive through the regions devastated by the conflict. 

Through their presence, their meetings, we hope to recover a beauty that our eyes cannot see anymore.

An unpredictable, unexpected adventure begins...

 

Wedsnesday November 13th at 6:00pm

RAW Material Company

Public lecture with Alain Gomis

“Images, thoughts, and so on, by whom, for whom?

Taking to bring elsewhere? Testifying to elsewhere?”

Alain Gomis wonders about the international and the local. He invites us to think about an artistic production that transcends language and cultural barriers. The director proposes a creative process which takes into account our differences and thus creates a common language.

Alain Gomis is the founder of the Yennenga center which focuses on training, creation and diffusion in the fields of cinematography and audiovisual content. He invites us to think about artists’ transmission and the necessity to be well rooted in one’s context.

 

Thursday November 14th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening

Otona no miru ehon - Umarete wa mita keredo / I Was Born, But...  (1932) by Yasujirō Ozu

A family and their two young boys, Keiji and Ryoichi, move to a new neighborhood in the Tokyo suburbs. The boys, bullied by a gang of kids, skip school. The teacher informs their father who makes them go back to class so that they can become “important people.” The boys, with the help of an older boy, join the local gang as lowly new kids and emerge as natural leaders after defeating a bully. While visiting the home of their father's boss, the brothers witness the ridicule their father has endured to please his superior. This leads to a great family fight. Angry and embarrassed, the boys find their naive ideas about power being challenged. They decide to rebel by going on a hunger strike because “if becoming someone important means bowing to a boss, then what is the point?”

 

Wednesday November 27th at 6:00pm

RAW Material Company

Public lecture with John Akomfrah

John Akomfrah is a seminal figure in Black British Cinema and forerunner in digital cinematography. He was a founding figure in the influential cine cultural group Black Audio Film Collective which was dedicated to exploring questions of Black British identity, race and class through film and media. His practice focuses on memory, the post-colonial as well as the realities and experiences of migration globally. 

 

Friday November 29th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening

Handsworth Songs (1986) and The Stuart Hall Project (2013) by John Akomfrah

Handsworth Songs

Documentary examining the 1985 riots in London and Birmingham's Handsworth district that erupted in reaction to the repressive policing of black communities.

 

The Stuart Hall Project 

Stuart Hall is one of the most influential and esteemed cultural theorists of a generation. A thinker and commentator, his peers include other giants of political commentary such as Noam Chomsky, Susan Sontag, Alan Ginsberg, Michel Foucault and Gore Vidal. This documentary takes the viewer on a roller coaster ride through the upheavals, struggles and turning points that made the 20th century the century of campaigning, and of global political and cultural change.

 

Wednesday December 4th at 6:00pm

RAW Material Company

Public lecture with Alfredo Jaar

“I will not act in the world before understanding the world” - Alfredo Jaar

According to Alfredo Jaar, there is a huge gap between reality and its possible representations but the role of the artist is to try different strategies for representation which can help to communicate on these different realities. 

In this conference, he will share his artistic practice and its inspirations.

Alfredo Jaar is a conceptual artist, architect, and filmmaker who lives and works in New York. Jaar has realized more than seventy public interventions around the world. His works are very often political and deals with sensitive subjects, such as the Rwandan genocide, environmental pollution in Nigeria or problems around immigration between the U.S. and Mexico.

 

Friday December 6th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening followed by a discussion with Alfredo Jaar



Wednesday December 11th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Tripoli Cancelled (2017) by Naeem Mohaiemen

A man follows a daily routine of walking, smoking, writing letters, staging scenes, and reading from a weathered copy of the British children’s classic Watership Down. Gradually, we learn that his home for the last decade is an abandoned airport, and witness his cycle of routine and realization. But is he a prisoner, or is it a voluntary home? There are no guards or fences, only a few mannequins in Olympic Airlines uniform, Melina Mercouri and Boney M songs, and letters to his wife that mix fantasy and despair. The film is shot in the Eero Saarinen designed International Terminal (built 1969, closed in 2001) of Ellinikon Airport in Greece. The script is loosely inspired by Mohaiemen’s father, who was stranded in this same Athens airport for nine days in 1977, after losing his passport on a Bangladesh-India flight. Tripoli Cancelled is also a requiem for an expansive post-war architecture, that in the future may not exist. Commissioned by documenta 14.

 

Friday December 13th at 8:00pm

Cinéma Empire

Film screening within the Partcours 8 programme

Atlantique (2019) by Mati Diop

In a popular suburb of Dakar, workers on the construction site of a futuristic tower, without pay for months, decide to leave the country by the ocean for a better future. Among them is Souleiman, the lover of Ada, promised to another. Days later, a fire ruins Ada's wedding and a mysterious fever starts to spread among the girls in the neighborhood. Issa, a young police officer, starts to investigate, unaware that the spirits of the drowned men have returned. While some of them have come for revenge, Souleiman has returned to say goodbye to Ada. 

This screening will be followed by a discussion with Mati Diop, Ken Bugul and Angèle Assie Diabang.

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

Automne 2019

Curriculum

Images pour notre temps

Sous la direction de Eric Baudelaire

 

RAW Académie Session 7, dirigée par l’artiste et cinéaste Eric Baudelaire, sera consacrée aux films: aux nouvelles façons de voir, d'entendre, de partager et d’interroger les urgences du présent, non pas tant pour les expliquer que pour nous interroger nous-même face à elles. Sept semaines pour réfléchir sur le rapport entre images et événements, entre art et réel.
 
Bien qu’une définition partagée de ce qui constitue le réel nous échappe, nous avons imaginé cette session avec un grand amour pour celles et ceux qui se consacrent, de différentes manière, à le saisir, à étudier ses mécanismes, ou simplement à en éclairer un fragment. Les professeur.e.s invité.e.s de la Session 7 partageant ces préoccupations, et sont engagés dans une réflexion sur le réel avec diverses mesures de fiction, d’invention, d’imagination et d’observation.
 
Ce passage de Samuel Beckett vient à l’esprit : « … il y aura forme nouvelle, et cette forme admettra le désordre et n’essaiera pas de dire que le désordre est au fond autre chose. La forme et le désordre demeurent séparés, celui-ci ne se réduit pas à celle-là. C’est pourquoi la forme elle-même devient une préoccupation ; parce qu’elle existe en tant que problème indépendant de la matière qu’elle accommode. Trouver une forme qui accommode le désordre, le chaos, le gâchis, telle est actuellement la tâche de l’artiste. » 
 
Aujourd'hui, le mot désordre et le mot réel semblent quasi interchangeables. Ce qui importe dans la formulation de Beckett, ce qui paraît indispensable et urgent aujourd'hui, c'est qu'elle ne dit pas que la tâche de l’artiste est de révéler le désordre, ou le déconstruire – mais simplement de l'accommoder au sein d’une forme, afin que nous puissions penser de nouveaux rapports avec lui.
 
Tout au long de l'Académie, nous discuterons des potentialités des images et des sons. Ensemble, nous regarderons un film par jour: des films fabriqués par les professeur.e.s invité.e.s, et des films qui les ont inspiré. Nous considérerons le cinéma comme un médium de résistance, un outil pour générer de nouvelles critiques, de la matière, des idées, et créer une expérience commune. Nous juxtaposerons des fictions qui tendent vers le document et des documents qui ouvrent la voie aux fictions, afin d’instaurer un dialogue entre les deux. Nous occuperons l'espace entre histoire et Histoire. Nous envisagerons des pratiques élargies, au-delà du film et de la projection, celles qui convoquent d’autres œuvres d’art, des archives, des performances, des textes et des discussions dans l’espace d’exposition, des pratiques qui inventent de nouveaux modèles d’interaction entre l’artiste, le public et la matière.
 
Images pour notre temps sera structuré par des rituels. Chaque journée commencera par une projection, suivie d’une promenade. Un périple à travers la ville de Dakar vers un nouveau lieu où nous parlerons des films projetés et de textes que nous aurons échangés. Le programme ne sera pas axé sur la production, mais les participants seront encouragés à travailler sur de petits projets, faire des images et des sons à Dakar, et les partager lors de séances de visionnage hebdomadaires.
 
Chaque semaine, les professeurs invités façonneront le cursus: les cinéastes et artistes John Akomfrah, Mati Diop, Alain Gomis, Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige, Alfredo JaarNaeem Mohaiemen, la commissaire et écrivaine Rasha Salti et l’historienne du cinéma Nicole Brenez.
 
À travers les projections, les promenades et les discussions, RAW Académie Session 7 développera une pensée collective sur un cinéma qui cherche de nouvelles formes pour penser le réel, l’accommoder, avec la conviction qu'une forme peut créer une communauté de circonstance. Une communauté qui existe à cause de la forme, une communauté pour penser les problèmes que pose le réel observé. Ce qui importe, c'est d’éprouver une sensation ensemble. C’est l’expérience commune d’une continuité non fragmentée. Réfléchir à notre rapport au temps alors que nous pensons au désordre. Affirmer la nécessité de repenser notre expérience du temps.
 
Cette session est ouverte aux cinéastes et aux artistes souhaitant travailler avec des images en mouvement, ainsi qu’aux programmateurs, aux conservateurs, aux chercheurs et aux historiens de l’art attachés à l’image en mouvement.

Directeur de Session

Éric Baudelaire (1973), est un artiste et cinéaste basé à Paris. Après des études en sciences politiques, il a développé une pratique artistique ancrée dans un travail de recherche comprenant la photographie, l’estampe et la vidéo. Depuis 2010, le cinéma est devenu central à son travail. Ces longs métrages Also Known As Jihadi (2017), Lettres à Max (2014), The Ugly One (2013) et L’Anabase de May et Fusako Shigenobu, Masao Adachi, et 27 années sans images (2011) ont été programmé en festival à Locarno, Toronto, New York, au FID Marseille et à Rotterdam. Lorsqu’il les montre au sein d’expositions, Éric Baudelaire incorpore ses films au sein d’installations comprenant d’autres oeuvres, des performances, des publications et une programmation publique, notamment lors du projet APRÈS au Centre Pompidou (2017) et The Secession Sessions qui a débuté à Bétonsalon à Paris, puis voyagé à Bergen Kunsthall et Sharjah Biennial 12. Ses dernières expositions personnelles ont eu lieu au Witte de With à Rotterdam, au Fridericianum à Kassel, au Beirut Art Center, à Gasworks, Londres, et au Hammer Museum à Los Angeles. Son travail est présent dans les collections du Musée Reina Sofia à Madrid, au MACBA à Barcelona, au MoMA à New York, au Centre Pompidou à Paris et à M+ à Hong Kong.

Corps Enseignant

Participants

Evénements publics

Calendrier des Sessions Publiques

Images pour notre temps  

RAW Académie Session 7 

 

Vendredi 1er novembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film 

Un film dramatique (2019) d’Eric Baudelaire

Qu’est-ce qu’on fabrique ensemble ? Cette question, les élèves du groupe cinéma du collège Dora Maar (93) et Eric Baudelaire, qui les a accompagnés pendant quatre ans depuis leur entrée en 6ème, ne cessent de se la poser. Répondre à cette question – politique en ce qu’elle engage les représentations du pouvoir, de la violence sociale et de l’identité – ce sera pour eux partir à la recherche d’une forme qui rende justice à la singularité de chacun d’entre eux, mais aussi à la consistance de leur groupe. Qu’est-ce qu’on fabrique ensemble, si ce n’est ni un documentaire ni une fiction ? Un film dramatique peut-être, où se découvrent le travail du temps sur les corps et sur les discours, mais aussi la possibilité pour chacun de parler en son nom en filmant pour les autres, et de devenir avec Baudelaire co-auteurs du film, c’est-à-dire déjà sujets de leur propre vie.

 

Mercredi 6 novembre à 18h00

RAW Material Company

Conférence publique avec Khalil Joreige

La guerre civile libanaise a fait voler en éclats la séparation binaire entre fiction et documentaire, à cause de l’impact de la violence sur les représentations, les images et les récits. Dans le contexte particulier de l’après-guerre civile à Beyrouth, ce qui était réel semblait parfois invraisemblable, et l’éventualité de la fiction était remise en question. 

Il est tellement difficile de définir le « réel ». Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige en recherchent constamment les manifestations, les symptômes et les traces. Ils s’intéressent à ce qui est vivant, ce qui est proche de la « vie ». Alors, lorsqu’ils parlent du réel, de la réalité, de la fiction, ils entendent par là essayer de produire des images ou des récits auxquels ils peuvent croire, en essayant de voir ce qui est invisible, ou impossible à voir... 

 

Vendredi 8 novembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film 

Je veux voir (2008) de Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige

Juillet 2006. Une guerre éclate au Liban. Une nouvelle guerre mais pas une de plus, une guerre qui vient briser les espoirs de paix et l'élan de notre génération.

Nous ne savons plus quoi écrire, quelles histoires raconter, quelles images montrer. Nous nous demandons : « Que peut le cinéma ? ».

Cette question, nous décidons de la poser vraiment. Nous partons à Beyrouth avec une « icône », une comédienne qui représente pour nous le cinéma, Catherine Deneuve. Elle va rencontrer notre acteur fétiche, Rabih Mroué.

Ensemble, ils parcourent les régions touchées par le conflit.

À travers leurs présences, leur rencontre, nous espérons retrouver une beauté que nos yeux ne parviennent plus à voir.

Une aventure imprévisible, inattendue commence alors...

 

Mercredi 13 novembre à 18h00

RAW Material Company

Conférence publique avec Alain Gomis

« L’image, la pensée, etc… par qui, à destination de qui ?

Prendre pour amener ailleurs ? Témoigner ailleurs ? » 

Alain Gomis s’interroge sur l’international et le local. Il nous invite à réfléchir à une production artistique qui transcende les barrières linguistiques et culturelles. Le réalisateur propose un processus créatif qui prend en compte nos différences et crée ainsi un langage commun.

Alain Gomis est fondateur du centre Yennenga où formation, création et diffusion cinématographiques et audiovisuelles sont au coeur de la programmation. Il nous invite à réfléchir sur la transmission par les artistes et la nécessité de s’ancrer de manière active à son contexte. 

 

Jeudi 14 novembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film programmé par Alain Gomis

Otona no miru ehon - Umarete wa mita keredo / Gosses de Tokyo (1932) de Yasujirō Ozu

Une famille et leurs deux jeunes garçons, Keiji et Ryoichi, s'installent dans la banlieue de Tokyo. Les enfants, victimes de brimades de la part de la bande de gosses du quartier, font l'école buissonnière. Le père, mis au courant par l'instituteur, les force à retourner en classe afin qu'ils deviennent « des gens importants ». Les enfants, grâce à l'aide d'un garçon plus âgé, parviennent à se faire accepter et à remplacer l'ancien chef de la bande. Toutefois, ils se rendent compte que leur père, simple employé de bureau, fait quotidiennement des courbettes à son patron, quitte à se rendre ridicule. Il s'ensuit une dispute familiale orageuse. Les garçons ne comprennent pas les explications de leurs parents et décident de se rebeller en arrêtant de manger, « car si devenir quelqu'un d'important dans la société, comme le prêche le père, revient à faire des courbettes devant son chef, alors à quoi bon ? »

 

Mercredi 27 novembre à 18h00

RAW Material Company

Conférence publique avec John Akomfrah

John Akomfrah est une figure essentielle du cinéma afro-britannique et un précurseur du cinéma numérique. Il a été l’un des fondateurs de l’important mouvement culturel cinématographique Black Audio Film Collective, qui se consacrait à étudier l’identité afro-britannique, les questions de race et de classe sociale, à travers le cinéma et les médias. Sa pratique se concentre sur la mémoire, le post-colonial ainsi que les réalités et expériences de la migration globalement. 

 

Vendredi 29 novembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de films 

Handsworth Songs (1986) et The Stuart Hall Project (2013) de John Akomfrah

Handsworth Songs

Un documentaire qui examine les émeutes de 1985 à Londres et dans le quartier de Handsworth à Birmingham. Ces émeutes étaient en réaction aux méthodes répressives de la police dans les communautés noires.

The Stuart Hall Project

Stuart Hall est l'un des théoriciens culturels les plus influents de toute une génération, dans la lignée de Michel Foucault, Gore Vidal ou Alan Ginsberg. Ce documentaire emporte le spectateur dans un tour de montagnes russes à travers les bouleversements, les luttes et les tournants du 20e siècle, siècle de tous les changements politiques et culturels mondiaux.

 

Mercredi 4 décembre à 18h00

RAW Material Company

Conférence publique avec Alfredo Jaar

“Je n’agirai pas dans le monde avant de l’avoir compris.” - Alfredo Jaar

Selon Alfredo Jaar, il y a un fossé impossible à combler entre la réalité et ses différentes représentations mais le rôle de l’artiste est d’essayer différentes stratégies de représentation qui peuvent aider à communiquer ces différentes réalités.

Dans cette conférence, il nous fera part de sa pratique artistique et de ses inspirations. 

Alfredo Jaar est un artiste conceptuel, architecte et cinéaste. Il vit et travaille à New York. Il a réalisé plus de 70 interventions dans l’espace public dans le monde entier. Ses oeuvres sont très souvent politiques et traitent de sujets délicats, tels que le génocide au Rwanda, la pollution environnementale au Nigéria ou les problèmes autour de l’immigration entre les Etats-Unis et le Mexique. 

 

Vendredi 6 décembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film suivie d’une discussion avec Alfredo Jaar

 

Mercredi 11 décembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film 

Tripoli Cancelled (2017) de Naeem Mohaiemen

Un homme suit une routine quotidienne où il marche, fume, écrit des lettres, crée des mises en scène, et lit un vieux livre anglais pour enfants Watership Down. Progressivement, on se rend compte qu’il habite dans un aéroport depuis une dizaine d’années, et on devient témoin de son cycle de routine et de réalisation. Mais, est-il prisonnier ou a-t-il choisi cette résidence? Le film a été tourné dans le Terminal International - construit en 1969, fermé en 2001 et conçu par Eero Saarinen - de l’aéroport Elinikon en Grèce. Le scénario est quelque peu inspiré par le père de Mohaiemen qui a été coincé dans ce même aéroport pendant neuf jours en 1977, après avoir perdu son passeport dans un vol du Bangladesh à l’Inde. Tripoli Cancelled est aussi un requiem pour une architecture expansive d’après guerre qui pourrait ne plus exister dans le futur. Ce travail a été commissionné dans le cadre de la documenta 14. 

 

Vendredi 13 décembre à 20h00

Cinéma Empire

Projection de film dans le cadre du Partcours 8

Atlantique (2019) de Mati Diop

Dans une banlieue populaire de Dakar, les ouvriers d’un chantier, sans salaire depuis des mois, décident de quitter le pays par l’océan pour un avenir meilleur. Parmi eux se trouve Souleiman, qui laisse derrière lui celle qu'il aime, Ada, promise à un autre homme. Quelques jours après le départ en mer des garçons, un incendie dévaste la fête de mariage d’Ada et de mystérieuses fièvres s'emparent des filles du quartier. Issa, jeune policier, débute une enquête, loin de se douter que les esprits des noyés sont revenus. Si certains viennent réclamer vengeance, Souleiman, lui, est revenu faire ses adieux à Ada. 

Cette projection de film sera suivie d’une discussion avec Mati Diop et Ken Bugul sous la modération d’ Oumy Régina Sambou.  

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: