Spring 2017

Curriculum

“Angazi, but I'm sure”

Download pdf booklet

“Angazi, but I’m sure” is a common South African phrase. In English it means: “I don’t know, but I am sure”. It is a deliberately self-contradictory phrase that is usually spoken in prelude to a reply – often, when one is asked for directions or facts. “Angazi, but I'm sure if you turn left you will get there”; “Angazi, but I’m sure they will start at 9pm”. The respondent is uncertain – of what they “know”. Or, perhaps, they are certain, but they do not know how to speak it. Or, they know, but do not know what they know. Sharing knowledge in this way requires mutual trust – it is speculation, in every sense of the word.

“Angazi, but I’m sure” is a break between our linguistic selves and a world, between knowledge and our ability to speak or map it – the knowledge that is elevated as finished product. The phrase suggests that arriving is as much about displacement as about place. More urgently, it affirms lived experience, improvisation and imagination as themselves forms of knowledge. It calls for a knowing through seeking and a constant transforming and renewing of our image of the world. Finally, it is an expression of community: “I know you will find the way”. 

How do we learn to know what we know? How can we draw from disparate and often intersecting practices through which we stylise our conduct and daily life on the continent? How do we harness the inventiveness, the generative resilience and the agility with which we live?

This requires not only a new set of questions, but its own set of tools; new practices and methodologies that allow us to engage the lines of flight, of fragility, the precariousness, as well as joy and creativity and beauty that define the contemporary African moment.

Chimurenga has long considered the shebeen (illegal drinking tavern) as a college of music. Can we draw on the improvisational, pedagogical method of black musics, where learning is collapsed into performing, and teachers and learners share the stage? How do we embrace knowledge not as information but as a methodology – a way of learning that expresses the conditions of our lives, our very existence. Can we take seriously food as knowledge, music as research and pan-Africanism as a practice? What if maps were made by Africans for their own use, to understand and make visible their own realities and imaginaries? What could the curriculum be – if it was designed by the people who dropped out of school so that they could breathe?

These are some of the queries this session will investigate, via the forms and media we use – such as cartography, comics, library-making, music, food, broadcasting and publishing, and in collaboration with Yemisi Aribisala, Neo Muyanga, Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Ibou Fall, Dominique Malaquais, Jihan el Tahri, Kodwo Eshun, Clapperton Mavhunga, Philippe Rekacewicz, Felwine Sarr, Lionel Manga, Victor Gama, Laila Soliman

Photo: Untitled ©Funsho Ogundipe, courtesy of Chimurenga

Lead Faculty

About Chimurenga 

Drawing together myriad voices from across Africa and the diaspora, Chimurenga takes many forms operating as platform for free ideas and political reflection about Africa by Africans – its motto draws from Felasophy: who no know go know. Outputs include a journal of culture, art and politics of the same name, a quarterly broadsheet called The Chronic, The Chimurenga Library – an online resource of collected independent pan-African periodicals and personal books, and the Pan African Space Station (PASS) – an online music radio station and pop-up studio. 

The aim of these projects is not only to produce new knowledge, but to express the intensities our world and to capture those forces, to act. 

On the method:

New Cartographies – How do we shift knowledge about and from Africa from “what it should be” to what we experience and imagine it to be? How do we make visible what is emerging or re-emerging across the continent? Our reality cannot only be mapped by GDP, GDS, IDF and indicators of “development”. Scales, set squares and compasses alone would not work; we also require hands, feet and hearts. And memory – memory is the art of the stateless.

Pan African Space Station (PASS) – a periodic, pop-up live studio; mobile performance and exhibition space; research lab and living archive; and ongoing, internet based radio station. Working in transitory spaces and between different fields, organising sound, music and words into new forms of knowledge, PASS challenges the boundaries between live performance and studio recording, documentation and archiving, and dissemination and broadcasting.

Chimurenga Library – How we forge communities; produce and circulate knowledge and operate in the border zones between informal/formal, licit/illicit, chaotic/ordered, etc. Research includes Panafest – the story of four pan African festivals that shaped public cultures on the continent (Dakar 66, Algiers 69, Kinshasa 74 and Lagos 77). Our research has yielded an eclectic repository of stories and anecdotes, digital copies of documents, artworks, images, sound and film footage, as well as books, magazines and albums. Our methodology is often closer to detective work, replete with entirely unexpected fortuitous coincidences, even encounters with ghosts, allegorical and otherwise.

Comics and the Lower Frequencies – Challenging the boundaries between high and low art, cartooning and comic, art and popular culture, Lower Frequencies engages public and popular forms of expression that insert themselves directly into daily life. Taking inspiration from popular comics, we invite participants to work in media that push representational limits and create a hinge between the world of concepts and the world of bodily experience.

The Chronic and the new(s) paper – a pan African gazette borne out of an urgent need to write our world differently, to begin asking new questions, or even the old ones anew. The Chronic hijacks the newspaper – a popular medium that raises questions of news and newness, disposability and longevity and how we define both the now and history – to blow the distinction between fact/fiction in quest for truth and sidesteps linear notions of time/place to document the fluidity of contemporary life.

Faculty Members

Fellows

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US:

Printemps 2017

Curriculum

« Angazi, mais j’en suis sûr »

Télécharger le booklet en PDF

« Angazi, mais j’en suis sûr » est une expression couramment utilisée en Afrique du Sud qui signifie : « Je ne sais pas, mais j’en suis sûr ». C’est une phrase qui se contredit elle-même intentionnellement ; elle sert de prélude à une réponse – souvent, lorsqu’on se voit demander son chemin ou des informations quelconques. « Angazi, mais je suis sûr que si vous tournez à gauche, vous y serez » ; « Angazi, je suis sûr qu’ils vont commencer à 21 heures ». La personne qui répond est incertaine de ce qu’elle « sait ». Ou, peut-être qu’elle en est sûre, mais qu’elle ne sait pas comment l’exprimer ; ou elle le sait, mais ne sait pas qu’elle le sait. Partager des connaissances de cette manière nécessite une confiance mutuelle – il s’agit de spéculation, dans tous les sens du mot.

« Angazi, mais j’en suis sûr » constitue une démarcation entre notre identité linguistique et le monde, entre la connaissance et notre capacité à l’exprimer ou à la situer – la connaissance qui est élevée en tant que produit fini. La phrase suggère que l’arrivée porte tout autant sur le déplacement que sur le lieu. De manière plus immédiate, elle affirme une expérience vécue, une improvisation et une imagination en tant que formes de connaissance par elles-mêmes. Elle en appelle au savoir par la recherche et à une transformation et à un renouvellement constants de notre image du monde. Enfin il s’agit d’une forme de communion : « Je sais que vous allez trouver le chemin ».

Comment apprenons-nous à savoir ce que nous savons ? Comment arrivons-nous à tirer des connaissances de pratiques disparates mais parfois croisées par lesquelles nous arrivons à donner un style à notre conduite et à notre vécu au quotidien sur le continent ? Comment pouvons-nous exploiter la créativité, la résilience génératrice et l’agilité qui nous permettent de vivre ?

Ceci nécessite non seulement un nouveau lot de questions, mais un lot d’outils adaptés ; de nouvelles pratiques et des méthodologies qui nous rapprochent des lignes de l’envol, de la fragilité, de la précarité, ainsi que de la joie, de la créativité et de la beauté qui définissent le moment africain contemporain.

Chimurenga considère depuis longtemps le chebeen (débit d’alcool clandestin) comme une école de musique. Peut-on s’inspirer d’une méthode d’improvisation pédagogique de la musique noire, où l’apprentissage se réduit à la performance et où les enseignants et les apprenants partagent la scène ? Comment nous ouvrir au savoir, non pas comme information mais comme méthodologie –une manière d’apprendre qui exprime nos conditions de vie, l’essence même de notre existence ? Peut-on considérer de manière sérieuse la nourriture comme connaissance, la musique comme recherche et le panafricanisme comme pratique ? Et si les cartes étaient confectionnées par les Africains pour leurs propres besoins, pour comprendre et rendre visible leur propre réalité et leur propre imaginaire ? À quoi ressembleraient les programmes d’enseignement s’ils étaient conçus par ceux qui ont abandonné l’école - afin de pouvoir respirer ?

Voilà certaines des interrogations sur lesquelles va se pencher cette session, au travers des formes et des médias que nous utilisons – tels que la cartographie, la bande dessinée, la création de bibliothèques, la musique, la nourriture, la diffusion et la publication, et tout cela en collaboration avec Yemisi AribisalaNeo MuyangaJean-Pierre BekoloIbou FallDominique MalaquaisJihan el TahriKodwo EshunClapperton MavhungaPhilippe RekacewiczFelwine SarrLionel Manga, Victor Gama, Laila Soliman

Photo: Sans titre ©Funsho Ogundipe, courtesy of Chimurenga

Directeur de session

À propos de Chimurenga

En rapprochant les myriades de voix qui s’élèvent de l’Afrique et de la diaspora, Chimurenga emprunte plusieurs formes pour constituer une plate-forme au sein de laquelle les idées et la réflexion politique sur l’Afrique et par les Africains évoluent librement – sa philosophie s’inspire de la Felasophie : qui ne sait pas doit chercher à savoir. Plusieurs produits ont été créés, notamment un journal éponyme de la culture, des arts et de la politique, un bulletin trimestriel appelé The Chronic, la Bibliothèque Chimurenga – une ressource en ligne de journaux et de livres personnels panafricains indépendants – et la PASS (Pan African Space Station), une station de radio musicale en ligne et studio occasionnel.

Le but de tous ces projets est non seulement de produire de nouveaux savoirs, mais aussi d’exprimer les intensités de notre monde et de se saisir de ces forces, d’agir. 

À propos de la méthode :

Nouvelles cartographies – Comment opérer un décalage des connaissances sur - et produits par - l’Afrique de « qu’est-ce que cela doit être » à « comment le vivons-nous et l’imaginons-nous » ? Comment rendre visible ce qui émerge ou ré-émerge à travers le continent ? Notre réalité ne peut pas se limiter à être cartographiée par le PIB, la SCD, le FID et autres indicateurs de « développement ». Des règles, des équerres et des compas ne suffiraient pas à eux seuls, nous avons également besoin de mains, de pieds et de cœurs. Et de mémoire – la mémoire constitue l’art des apatrides.

La Station spatiale panafricaine (SSPA) est un studio de performance périodique ; de performance et d’espace d’exposition itinérants ; de laboratoire de recherche et d’archive vivante ; de station de radio Internet permanente. En travaillant sur des espaces transitoires et dans plusieurs domaines, en structurant le son, la musique et les mots pour créer de nouvelles formes de savoir, la SSPA remet en cause les démarcations entre les performances en direct et l’enregistrement en studio, la documentation et l’archivage, la dissémination et la diffusion.

La Bibliothèque Chimurenga – Comment nous forgeons des communautés, produisons et véhiculons des connaissances et opérons sur des zones frontières entre l’informel et le formel, le licite et l’illicite, le chaotique et l’ordonné, etc. La recherche porte également sur Panafest – l’histoire de quatre festivals panafricains qui ont façonné les cultures publiques sur le continent (Dakar 66, Alger 69, Kinshasa 74 et Lagos 77). Notre recherche a généré un référentiel éclectique de récits et d’anecdotes, de copies numériques de documents, d’œuvres d’art, d’images, de sons et d’extraits de films, ainsi que des livres, magazines et albums. Notre méthodologie se rapproche parfois davantage du travail de détective, avec souvent des coïncidences totalement fortuites et inattendues, et même des rencontres avec des fantômes, allégoriques ou non.

Bandes dessinées et fréquences basses – Repoussant les frontières entre les formes d’art supérieures et inférieures, le dessin animé et la bande dessinée, l’art et la culture populaire, Lower Frequencies se plonge dans les formes d’expression publiques et populaires qui s’intègrent naturellement à la vie de tous les jours. Tirant notre inspiration de bandes dessinées populaires, nous invitons les participants à travailler sur des supports qui repoussent les limites de la représentation et à créer une charnière entre le monde des concepts et celui de l’expérience corporelle.

La Chronique et le journal – Une gazette panafricaine s’inspirant du besoin urgent à décrire notre monde différemment, à commencer à poser de nouvelles questions ou même à poser de nouveau les anciennes. La Chronique détourne le journal, médium populaire qui soulève des questions d’actualité et de nouveauté, d’obsolescence et de longévité et sur la manière dont nous définissons l’instant présent et l’histoire, pour annihiler la démarcation entre la réalité et la fiction à la recherche de la vérité et pour se décaler vers des notions linéaires de temps et de lieu afin de fixer le caractère éphémère de notre vie contemporaine.

Corps Enseignant

Participants

RAW MATERIAL COMPANY

CENTER FOR ART KNOWLEDGE AND SOCIETY

Sign up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US: